# JONESTOWN WATER SUPPLY CORPORATION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

# MONDAY, APRIL 19, 2021, VIA VIDEOCONFERENCE FOLLOWING THE ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

### 1. CALL TO ORDER.

Director Newcombe called the meeting to order at 8:02 p.m.

Board members present: Gregg Newcombe, John Riddle, Dave Stewart, Don Swayne, Amy

Fitzgerald and Bruce Covill. Board members absent: none Staff present: John Tichi

Members present: Mark Rogalski, David Torrence

## 1-A. DATE OF NEXT REGULAR MEETING: May 11, 2021. (proposed)

Director Newcombe announced the next regular meeting will be May 11<sup>th</sup> at 7:00 p.m. All directors will be invited to attend in person at the office if they are comfortable, with the meeting still being conducted with a Zoom option. There will be an item on the next agenda for discussion of how director attendance will be handled going forward.

# 2. APPOINT BOARD MEMBERS FOR POSITIONS VACATED AT ANNUAL MEETING

Director Newcombe read and explained the procedures for voting for candidates, noting that the six current directors (Dave Stewart, John Riddle, Don Swayne, Amy Fitzgerald and Bruce Covill, and Gregg Newcombe) will be voting. Director Swayne moved to approve the procedures as read. Director Riddle seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Director Newcombe then opened the floor for member comments. Mark Rogalski, past director, expressed support for candidates Tim Hawkins, Dani Harris, and Mike Hilsabeck. Candidates were then given opportunity to speak. Dani Harris, Keith Stewart, Mike Hilsabeck, and Timothy Hawkins each addressed the directors and spoke of their qualifications and reasons for seeking a position on the board. Director Newcombe confirmed no directors had questions for any of the candidates and announced the directors' votes would now be received and tallied by Manager Tichi and himself.

After a brief pause to conduct the count, Director Newcombe announced a three-way tie among candidates Hawkins, Harris and Stewart. Per the approved procedure, names of these three tied candidates were put into a hat and Director Newcombe drew for each of the three vacant positions, with results as follows:

- a) Vacancy Term 2024 (3 years)
  - Drawn for this position was Keith Stewart
- b) Vacancy Term 2024 (3 years)
  - Drawn for this position was Dani Harris
- c) Vacancy left by Nadia Wills Term 2023 (2 years)

Drawn for this position was Timothy Hawkins

Director Stewart moved to approve the directors slate of candidates (as listed above), seconded by Director Swayne. The motion passed unanimously.

## 3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS.

Director Newcombe briefly noted last year the board voted to limit officer terms to five years, with a director being able to return as an officer after leaving the office for one year. Nominations were opened.

## a) President

Director Covill nominated Gregg Newcombe for President. As no other director wished to make a nomination, nominations were closed. Director Covill moved to elect Gregg Newcombe president for the coming year, seconded by Director Riddle. The motion passed with 8 aye votes, Gregg Newcombe abstaining.

# b) Vice President

Directors Riddle and Hawkins nominated Bruce Covill for vice president. There were no other nominations. Director Fitzgerald moved to elect Bruce Covill vice president for the next year, seconded by Director Stewart. The motion passed with 8 ayes, Bruce Covill abstaining.

# c) Secretary/Treasurer

Director Riddle nominated Amy Fitzgerald for secretary/treasurer. There were no other nominations. Director Riddle moved to appoint Amy Fitzgerald secretary/treasurer for the next year, seconded by Director Hawkins. The motion passed with 8 ayes, Amy Fitzgerald abstaining.

### 4. OLD BUSINESS.

None.

### 5. NEW BUSINESS

Manager Tichi briefly explained the reason and process for the appointments, noting appointments will be made tonight and a resolution designating bank signatories will be considered at the next meeting.

# a) Appoint Deputy Secretary and Assistant (employee)

# b) Appoint President's Designee

Questions were raised and discussed on the bylaws regarding signatories, and directors indicated clarification is needed. The appointments of Deputy Secretary and Assistant and President's Designee will be postponed until the May meeting.

# c) Appoint Credentials Committee

Manager Tichi explained the Secretary/Treasurer is the chair of this committee, and one additional director, along with Manager Tichi, will make up the membership of this committee. The Credentials Committee reviews the bylaws and administers the annual meeting process. Director Riddle nominated Dave Stewart to serve on the Credentials Committee. Director Riddle moved to appoint Amy Fitzgerald, Dave Stewart and John Tichi to the Credentials Committee (Amy Fitzgerald to serve as Chair). Director Keith Stewart seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## d) Appoint Budget Committee

Manager Tichi briefly described the budget process and timeline, and indicated new directors typically serve on the budget committee, with the Secretary/Treasurer serving as

Chair. Director Covill nominated Dani Harris and Keith Stewart to serve on the Budget Committee. Director Covill moved to appoint Amy Fitzgerald, Dani Harris and Keith Stewart to the Budget Committee, seconded by Director Swayne. The motion passed unanimously.

# 6. ADJOURNMENT.

Director Harris moved to adjourn the special meeting, seconded by Director Keith Stewart. The motion passed unanimously. President Newcombe adjourned the meeting at 9:09 p.m.

Minutes recorded in type by Rachel Austin.

PASSED AND A	PPROVED AT T	HE REGULAR	MEETING H	IELD ON June	15,	2021.

Gregg Newcombe, President
ATTEST:
Amy Fitzgerald, Secretary